Something for the mid-winter blues

I’m tired. It’s the end of January and everything seems too much right now. After three weeks of the Dance On Camera Festival, Kinetic Cinema, APAP, grant deadlines looming, school starting, work going overtime, relentless presidential campaigns, and a never-ending war I’m just tired…

So, here is something that gave me a lift at 10:42pm on a Thursday night. Time to get up out of your chair, push it aside, and give in to an inscrutably optimistic force of nature…

Dancing 4 fun + fitness with Paul Eugene

Alright, now that you’re warmed up, here is the final scene of one of my favorite dance movies of all time “Girls Just Want to Have Fun.” (Warning: Age-specific content. People in their late twenties or early thirties may be the only ones to appreciate this.) This one goes out to my girl Nadine, who has been devoted to Sarah Jessica Parker since day one…

Ahhh, the smile is coming back to my face. Life isn’t sooo bad…

One more to send me off to bed. From my favorite master of cinematic fantasy, Busby Berkeley, here are three incredible clips from his 1934 classic, “Dames”. (For dance film geeks out there, see also Michel Gondry’s music video of the Chemical Brothers “Let Forever Be”, he obviously studied this film closely!)

I feel better now, I hope you do too 🙂

This entry was posted in pop culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something for the mid-winter blues

  1. Boris Willis says:

    Thanks. I was looking for a youtube workout video series. I love the 80’s especially the body doubles that are really obvious not to mention the editing at exactly the wrong moment. And my childhood spent watching movie musicals. The choreography was so simple but grand perhaps I will make some dances like these. Thanks again for enhancing my January.

  2. Anna Brady Nuse says:

    My pleasure Boris. I’m glad someone else got a kick out of these clips! Send me a link when you make some 80’s/musical inspired dances!

  3. Maria says:

    Thank you! I have a big goofy grin on my face. I haven’t seen Girls Just Wanna Have Fun in oh so many years.

    As for that awesomely awesome aerobics video, I just have to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

